Skip to Main Content


Skip Nav Destination

Mitochondria and Autophagy 2018

Mitochondria drive the cell's metabolic landscape and integrate signaling inputs and processes such as innate immunity and cell death. Selective autophagy has emerged as a major regulator of immunity and the homeostasis of organelles, including mitochondria. Efforts have recently focused on integrating the mechanisms of selective autophagy, its interface with the endolysosomal trafficking system, its cross-talk with the immune response, as well as mitochondrial dynamics, contacts, motility, metabolism and homeostasis. Dysfunctions in mitochondria and selective autophagy have been implicated in the pathogenesis of diseases, including metabolic and neurodegenerative disorders, increasing the interest in understanding the fundamental cell biology of selective autophagy and mitochondria.

To celebrate recent progress in the field and concurrent with the joint Mitochondrial Biology and Selective Autophagy 2018 Keystone Symposium, JCB Board member Richard Youle and Senior Scientific Editor Melina Casadio have assembled a collection of recent JCB papers providing exciting new results and advances in our understanding of mitochondrial biology and autophagy. The selection is based both on the usage data of these articles and the breadth of topics that they cover. We hope that you will enjoy this collection and look forward to your feedback on social media.

Image © 2017 Koehler et al.


PINK1, innate immunity, mitochondria, mTORC1, fission, neurodegeneration, cell death, autophagy, fusion, autophagosome, mitophagy, Parkin, Atg

Special Collection Image
Elias Cornejo; Philipp Schlaermann; Shaeri Mukherjee
Trinna L. Cuellar; Anna-Maria Herzner; Xiaotian Zhang; Yogesh Goyal; Colin Watanabe; Brad A. Friedman; Vasantharajan Janakiraman; Steffen Durinck; Jeremy Stinson; David Arnott; Tommy K. Cheung; Subhra Chaudhuri; Zora Modrusan; Jonas Martin Doerr; Marie Classon; Benjamin Haley
Paola Kuri; Nicole L. Schieber; Thomas Thumberger; Joachim Wittbrodt; Yannick Schwab; Maria Leptin
Sang Bum Kim; Hye Rim Kim; Min Chul Park; Seongmin Cho; Peter C. Goughnour; Daeyoung Han; Ina Yoon; YounHa Kim; Taehee Kang; Eunjoo Song; Pilhan Kim; Hyosun Choi; Ji Young Mun; Chihong Song; Sangmin Lee; Hyun Suk Jung; Sunghoon Kim
Suvagata Roy Chowdhury; Anastasija Reimer; Malvika Sharan; Vera Kozjak-Pavlovic; Ana Eulalio; Bhupesh K. Prusty; Martin Fraunholz; Karthika Karunakaran; Thomas Rudel
Filipa B. Lopes; Štefan Bálint; Salvatore Valvo; James H. Felce; Edith M. Hessel; Michael L. Dustin; Daniel M. Davis
Thomas R. Lerner; Sophie Borel; Daniel J. Greenwood; Urska Repnik; Matthew R.G. Russell; Susanne Herbst; Martin L. Jones; Lucy M. Collinson; Gareth Griffiths; Maximiliano G. Gutierrez
Reed M. O’Connor; Elizabeth F. Stone; Charlotte R. Wayne; Emily V. Marcinkevicius; Matt Ulgherait; Rebecca Delventhal; Meghan M. Pantalia; Vanessa M. Hill; Clarice G. Zhou; Sophie McAllister; Anna Chen; Jennifer S. Ziegenfuss; Wesley B. Grueber; Julie C. Canman; Mimi M. Shirasu-Hiza
Bryan Vander Lugt; Jeremy Riddell; Aly A. Khan; Jason A. Hackney; Justin Lesch; Jason DeVoss; Matthew T. Weirauch; Harinder Singh; Ira Mellman
Katelyn M. Spillane; Pavel Tolar
Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal