Skip to Main Content


Junior Faculty Networking Cohort

JGP, in partnership with the Society of General Physiologists, has launched the Junior Faculty Networking Cohort, a program designed to support and connect junior faculty in the first stage of their independent careers.


The Junior Faculty Networking Cohort matches up to nine junior faculty with a member of the JGP Editorial Advisory Board for quarterly group discussions. Each discussion begins with a topic of relevance, such as selecting and managing personnel, financial management, and collaborating wisely. The remaining time is devoted to topics chosen by the participants.

The cohort leader is a senior scientist who will contribute sage advice and act as a sounding board for ideas. Junior faculty who participate will also benefit from mentoring each other.

Junior faculty receive a behind-the-scenes tour of the review process at JGP, in accordance with our conflict-of-interest policy for editors and reviewers. They will have the opportunity to participate in a weekly meeting with the Editor-in-Chief and Associate Editors. During this meeting, manuscripts will be discussed and relevant reviewers will be considered if the paper meets criteria to be sent out for review. The experience, like serving on study sections for grant writers, will provide junior faculty participants with a new perspective that will strengthen them in their roles as reviewers and authors.

Junior faculty are also invited to join one of JGP’s Focus Groups and attend the annual Editorial Advisory Board meeting.

2019 Mentor

Robert J. French, PhD
Department of Physiology & Pharmacology
Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary


  • Foster our community of physiologists by addressing the needs of junior faculty in the first stage of their independent careers.
  • Demystify the hidden curriculum that junior faculty face when creating labs and research programs.  
  • Offer a support network of peers and leading experts with shared trajectories to create a sense of support that adds to individuals’ resilience and sense of purpose.


  • Must have accepted a first independent position at an academic or research institution to start within the next year.
  • OR be within three years of starting an independent position.
  • Applicants who have been an author on a paper in JGP within the last 5 years will receive priority.


We are no longer accepting applications for the 2019 program. We will announce the opening of the 2020 program in the summer.If you have questions or would like to be notified when applications are again being considered, please contact the JGP Editorial Office at

2019 Cohort

Robert J. French, PhD
Professor, Department of Physiology & Pharmacology
Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary

Junior Faculty:

  • Victor De la Rosa, Universidad Autonoma de San Luis Potosi
  • Daniel Johnson, The Open University, United Kingdom
  • Claudia Moreno, University of Washington
  • Michael Puljung, University of Oxford
  • Oscar Vivas, University of Washington

2018 Cohort

William N. Zagotta, PhD
JGP Editorial Advisory Board Member
The University of Washington

Junior Faculty:

  • Thirumalini Vaithianathan, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
  • Linlin Ma, Flinders University
  • David Jones, University of Michigan
  • Kazuharu Furutani, University of California Davis
  • Karen Mruk, University of Wyoming
  • Josep Font Sadurni, University of Sydney
  • Christian Peters, University of California, San Francisco
  • Igor Vorobyov, University of California, Davis
  • Isaac García Carrillo, Universidad de Valparaiso, Chile

2017 Cohort

Mark Nelson, PhD
JGP Editorial Advisory Board Member
The University of Vermont, College of Medicine

Junior Faculty:

  • Aurelia Honerkamp-Smith, Lehigh University
  • Eric Senning, University of Washington
  • Elaine Wan, Columbia University
  • Ainara Vallejo, Biodonostia Health Research Institute
  • Ivy Dick, University of Maryland
  • David MacLean, University of Rochester

Richard W. Aldrich, PhD
JGP Associate Editor
The University of Texas at Austin

Junior Faculty:

  • Ruhma Syeda, The University of Texas Southwestern
  • Manu Ben Johny, Johns Hopkins University
  • Fan Yang, Zhejiang University
  • Medha M. Pathak, The University of California, Irvine
  • Jerome Lacroix, Western University of Health Sciences
  • Changhoon Jee, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center

Gail Robertson, PhD
JGP Editorial Advisory Board Member
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Junior Faculty:

  • Nathan Tykocki, University of Vermont
  • Hannah R. Malcolm, University of North Florida
  • Jamie Spangler, Johns Hopkins University
  • Lydia Nausch, Nuremberg Hospital Medical School
  • Ivana Kuo, Loyola University Chicago
Close Modal
This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal